Self admitting materialist.

materialist

məˈtɪərɪəlɪst/
noun
1.
a person who considers material possessions and physical comfort as more important than spiritual values.

I’d never really thought about what it was to be a materialist, or what the word even meant and it’s significance. That was, until today.

It was like my heart stopped. A sweat came over me and my heart then began racing, my mind coming up with all the possible places I could have left them. My beats earphones.

I’ve only had them for about 3 months and they were expensive for earphones, I had wanted them for so long and when I got them I swore to never let them go.

However, as time goes on, we seem to get used to things and the novelty of them wears off, just like it did for my expensive white and gold beats.

They’d begun to fit into my routine to the point where I didn’t even notice them; I used them to listen to music 24/7. Whether that be on my long journey to and from school, at the library studying, at home studying, falling asleep or just sitting and relaxing.

Music and this medium in which they travelled through have completely become intergrated into my life and when I realised they were gone, it hurt.

Yes. You heard right. It bloody hurt. And this is when I realised I was a materialist.

At first, I just brushed it off, I said to myself ‘they’re just a material item it’s not like someone’s died!’ and that perhaps it would teach me a valuable lesson of being careful that you have all your stuff before you leave somewhere.

However, on the bus journey home that day, without my earphones, I began fo feel physical pain in my heart at the loss of them.

It was the same sort of sadness that fills you when something terrible happens and that sickening feeling climbs up your throat from your chest. I felt like a part of me was missing almost, and I really don’t feel like it’s frivolous, I understand now why some people care for materialistic items so much, they are like another part of you which add value to your life and so much more.

So, there we have it, I have proclaimed myself a materialist.

Perhaps one of the most negatively associated and ridiculed words I’ve  come across. But truly, without these earphones I fear my daily escape into the mythical world of music will not be possible and as a result,

I don’t know if I can survive.

-R

Leave a Reply

